Pro Kabaddi League returns as auction scheduled from 29-31. August

Mumbai, August 20 (IANS) The Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) on Friday announced the player’s detentions under three categories: ‘Elite Retained Players’, ‘Retained Young Players’ and ‘New Young Players’ ahead of the eighth season player auctions. The league returns after the 2020 edition was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In total, 59 players were retained across the three categories with 22 in the ‘Elite Players’ category, six in the ‘Retained Players’ category and 31 in the ‘New Young Players’ category.

The 12 teams are starting to reunite their teams for the eighth season, which is set to take place in December. The non-retained players including all squad players from PKL Season 6 and 7 will go under the hammer at the mega auctions in Mumbai from 29 to 31 August.

The defending champions Bengal Warriors have retained their captain Maninder Singh along with one of the main heroes in the final of the seventh season, Mohammed Esmaeil Nabibaksh.

Top scorer of the seventh season, Pawan Kumar Sehrawat has been retained by the Bengaluru Bulls for the second season in a row. The seventh season MVP, Naveen Kumar, has been retained by Dabang Delhi KC under the category ‘Retained Young Players’.

Experienced players like Fazel Atrachali (U Mumba), Parvesh Bhainswal & Sunil Kumar (Gujarat Giants), Vikash Khandola (Haryana Steelers) and Nitesh Kumar (UP Yoddha) have been retained by their respective teams.

Fan favorites like Pardeep Narwal (Patna Pirates), Deepak Hooda (Jaipur Pink Panthers), Rahul Chaudhari (Tamil Thalaivas), Siddharth Desai (Telugu Titans) and Rohit Kumar (Bengaluru Bulls) will be part of the auction pool.

The 12 teams have released a total of 161 players, with the Bengal Warriors (16 out of 20) and Telugu Titans (15 out of 18) dropping most of their members.

Patna Pirates is the most successful team in the league to win three times and is the only team to have defended their title twice. Apart from defending champions Bengal Warriors, Jaipur Pink Panthers, U Mumba and Bengaluru Bulls have also won the tournament once.

Category A domestic players auction will be shown live on August 30 on Star Sports and Disney + Hotstar, which is the official TV station and OTT partner of the Pro Kabaddi League.


nr / akm

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *