Mathews, three banned cricketers who are not on SLC’s contract list

Colombo, August 20 (IANS) All-rounder Angelo Mathews, along with three suspended players – Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella and Kusal Mendis – are not on Sri Lanka Cricket’s (SLC) list of 18 players offered national contracts here on Friday.

“Sri Lanka Cricket would like to announce that 18 players have signed the national player contracts, which came into force on 1 August 2021. The new contract is valid for a period of five months and ends on 31 December 2021,” said SLC. in a statement Friday.

SLC clarified that Mathews was not on the list of contract players because he is “currently not available for election”.

Angelo Mathews, who was among the players offered a contract, was not considered as he is currently not eligible for selection, while Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella and Kusal Mendis are currently serving a ban. Isuru Udana has withdrawn from international cricket, “added SLC.

Mendis, wicketkeeper Dickwella and Gunathilaka were sent home from England for violating bio-bubble protocols in Durham.

Reports last month had said the 34-year-old Mathews was in discussions with the SLC about his retirement plans and that the decision on his future with the national side would soon be revealed.

Mathews was not part of the Sri Lankan side that recently played a white ball series against the Shikhar Dhawan-led India. Sri Lankan had last played for their country during their tour of the Caribbean earlier this year.

(18) the players signed the contracts without any deviation from the previously offered contracts, which were formulated by Sri Lanka Cricket together with the Technical Advisory Committee. The players were selected under four categories and were nominated by the selection panel, based on a set of criteria such as performance, fitness, management / seniority, professionalism / code of conduct and future / adaptability, ”said SLC.

The criteria and distribution of points to the individual players were shared between the players before they signed the contracts.

Players receiving national contracts: Dhananjaya De Silva, Kusal Perera, Dimuth Karunaratne, Suranga Lakmal, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lasith Embuldeniya, Pathum Nissanka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dushmantha Chameera, Dinesh Chandimal, Lakshah Fernakan, Lakshan Sandakan, Lakshan Sandakan , Ashen Bandara and Akila Dananjaya.


akm /

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *