Tech

Google introduces new search history protection

By default, Google tracks activity logs of your smart home devices, Android devices, and even regular services like YouTube or Chrome.

It is typically a lot of work to avoid this tracking without changing your use of these services. Therefore, the best course of action is to secure all your logged data.

Currently, anyone logged in to a device with the same ID can see your activity log. Therefore, you can assume that when you log out of all devices you are no longer currently using, you are safe.

However, in addition to standard security measures and two-factor authentication, Google’s services have been expanded. They launched a new feature to help protect the activity log stored in your Google Account.

New Google search history password protection feature

New Google search history password protection feature

Today, you can enjoy privacy and password with Google. Google now allows users to protect their web and app activity page, web search histories, and Google Maps password stories. Users can prevent other people from viewing their activity when they are logged in to the same device with a password.

Your web and app activity page contains a huge amount of private data. In addition to search activity and map activity, it collects your Google Assistant queries, browser extensions, Using Google Play, YouTube See history and more.

This data can help users track how they discovered something. Nevertheless, the main reason Google tracks this history is to deliver personalized ads and search results.

Fortunately, users can now stop this confidential data from being viewed by unwanted parties and unauthorized persons. Before this new update, all a person had to do to see your search history was get your laptop or phone and type activity.google.com in the address bar.

The new verification feature from Google allows users to enter a password that must be entered before anyone can see your web and app activity page.

How to password protect your Google search history

How to password protect your Google search history

If you often share a laptop, PC, smart speaker or Android tablet with other people in your house or at your workplace, this new verification feature is a great development.

Once you enter the password, your web, location and app history cannot be viewed or disturbed by unauthorized users. Your activity controls can no longer be disturbed.

Here are some easy steps to enjoy your privacy and password protection with Google:

  1. Follow the steps below to turn on verification.
  2. Sign in to your Google Account.
  3. Go to activity.google.com
  4. Click Manage My Activity Verification
  5. Then click Require Additional Verification
  6. Click Save
  7. Enter your password to confirm your identity

Once you’ve protected your Google activity page, a Verify button will appear instead of your history.
When you click the Confirm button, it will take you to a screen asking for your account password. Once you have entered your password, you will be redirected to your activity page with all your web, app and location history displayed.

While still on your ‘Web and app activity page, take some time to take a closer look at which of your activities Google is tracking. You can also enable 2-factor authentication (if you have not already done so) to further protect your Google Account.

Other ways to manage your Google activity history

Other ways to manage your Google activity history

There are other ways to manage your Google activity history.

One way is to disable data collection. To do this, click on the row of buttons on your activity history page. There you will see a switch to data collection that can be turned on or off.

When you click on one of the options in the row of buttons, you will be taken to another screen. Here you can choose whether your Google activity should be automatically deleted after a selected time period.

The time frame for automatically deleting Google activity is 36 months, 18 months and three months.

Additionally, you can manually delete your history whenever you want. To make things even easier, Google recently introduced a remarkable new option for manual deletions.

Delete the last 15 minutes of Google Search History

Latest Google I / O, the company launched a feature that allows users to delete the last 15 minutes of search history. To use this new and fast feature, click on your profile picture on your Google Account and press ‘delete’ for the last 15 minutes.

This new feature can be very beneficial in situations where you are searching for a topic or topic that you would rather keep private. This delete option prevents the queries from being used to customize future ads and search results.

Google also introduced a new Private Computer Core and a locked photo folder on the latest Google I / O; to increase the possibilities for privacy protection.

Conclusion

Online privacy is a growing concern, especially as the Internet continues to evolve. Having a password that protects your activity log and tracking data is a welcome development.

You can also take things further by disabling Google tracking. Ask yourself if you want your information tracked and displayed this way.

If you are comfortable with this, be sure to configure 2-factor authentication and the new password-protected activity feature. If you would rather not have your information stored this way, set up account activity auto-deletion or disable tracking altogether.

Frequently asked questions

What information does Google track or collect?

When you sign in to your Google Account, Google tracks how and what you search for, your search patterns, ads you like, videos you see, images you see, and links you click on. For more information about this tracking, see Google’s Terms of Service and their Privacy Policy.

Does Google track your search history even though you’re logged out?

Even when you’re not on Google, lots of your information is available by simply being on the web. These include your IP address, your location, server information and more. This information may be used by Google for targeted / retargeted ad placements and search relevancy. Website owners can also access this tracking data through Google Analytics.

How can I prevent Google from tracking my data?

Aside from using methods like auto-deletion of activity or disabling data tracking on your web and app activity page, you can use alternative search engines like DuckDuckGo. You can also use other free email services instead of Gmail.

The latest technical news delivered to your inbox

Read Next

Do not miss the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to access The Philippine Daily Inquirer and other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4:00 and share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*